Nominations for the Banknote of 2020 close on the 31st January 2021

Latest Nominations are Indonesia's 75,000 Rupiah Note, Saudi Arabia's 20 Riyal Note, Tunisia's 10 Dinar Note and Qatar's 5 Riyal Note

Send your nominations to the Banknote of the Year Co-Ordinator ( 

IBNS Journal 59-4

is available to download: Articles cover Banco de Mexico's Waterlow Banknotes; Petroleum Industry on Banknotes; Alleged Forgery of 50 Serbian Dinars 1942 and World Currency Definitions. Login to download your copy.


IBNS Board and Officers

Executive Board

President Pam West UK Contact
First Vice President Sev Onyshkevych USA Contact
Second Vice President Omer Yalcinkaya Turkey Contact
Immediate Past President Dennis Lutz USA Contact

Regional Directors

Director, Region 1
- US/Canada Mountain time zone and west
Ron Richardson Canada Contact
Director, Region 2
- US/Canada Central time zone and east; Bermuda
David Frank USA Contact
Director, Region 3
- United Kingdom
Jonathan Callaway UK Contact
Director, Region 4
- Western Europe and Scandinavian countries
(including Finland), excluding UK
Christian Funke Germany Contact
Director, Region 5
- Baltic States, remainder of Europe east of
Germany-Austria-Italy, the Middle East and Africa
Arsentiy Khonin Kazakhstan Contact
Director, Region 6
- Asia east from the Urals and Caspian Sea, South Asia east
of Iran, Australasia, Pacific Islands not US postal codes
Anthony James Australia Contact
Director, Region 7
- Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean.
Alexandre Costa Brazil Contact

Directors At Large

NameCountry  NameCountry 
David Hunt UK Contact   Stane Straus Slovenia Contact
Jaime Sanz Spain Contact   S. Hakim Hamdani Netherlands Contact
Andrew Pattison UK Contact   Ilias Panagiotidis France Contact
Flemming Hansen Denmark Contact   Jason Lutz U.S.A. Contact
Fabrizio Raponi Japan Contact   Mushtaq Sharif Canada Contact
Colin Meikle Australia Contact   Nitin Rohatgi India Contact

Honorary Director For Life

Joseph E Boling United States Contact  
Peter Symes Australia Contact  

Current IBNS Officers

General Secretary* Roger Urce USA Contact
Membership Secretary* for Europe, Africa & the Middle East *** VACANT *** UK Contact
Membership Secretary* for Australasia and Asia Pacific Gordon de Totth Australia Contact
Membership Secretary* for the Western Hemisphere Roger Urce USA Contact
Chapters Secretary* David White Australia Contact
Treasurer* Dave Frank USA Contact
Assistant Treasurer (USA) Jason Lutz United States Contact
Assistant Treasurer (UK) Robin Hill UK Contact
Auctioneer* David Hunt UK Contact
Grievance and Discipline Program Manager* Tony Alsop Australia Contact
Legal Counsel* James A. Downey United States Contact
Awards Program Manager* Dennis Lutz United States Contact
Archivist Roger Urce USA Contact
Journal Editor*
Alex Kort USA Contact
General Advertising Manager* Tim Welo USA Contact
Webmaster* Robin Hill UK Contact

Current IBNS Chapter Chair/President

01 London Chapter Chairperson* Pam West UK Contact
02 Sydney Chapter President* Trevor Wilkin Australia Contact
04 Midwest Chapter President Garrett Schumacher USA Contact
06 Melbourne Chapter President* Stephen Prior Australia Contact
08 Netherlands Chapter President* Oleg Banachek Netherlands Contact
11 East Midlands Chapter Chairman* Simon Biddlestone UK Contact
12 Arabic Chapter President Dr. Ali Mehilba Egypt Contact
13 Vancouver Chapter President* David Owen Canada Contact
14 Perth Chapter President* Steve Milner Australia Contact
19 India Chapter Chairman Rezwan Razack India Contact
21 Russian (IBONS) Chapter President Dmitriy Litvak USA Contact
24 New York City Chapter President* Suresh Jagannathan USA Contact
26 North Carolina Chapter President Austin Mattox USA Contact
27 Rocky Mountain Chapter President
David Feely USA Contact
28 Romania Chapter President Florin Mercea Romania Contact
29 Spain Chapter President* Jaime Sanz Spain Contact
32 Lebanon Chapter President Gilbert Abou Fayssal Lebanon Contact
33 Bangladesh Chapter President Mohammad Shariar Nafees Bangladesh Contact
34 Ukraine Chapter President Sergey Trushin Ukraine Contact
35 Nepal Chapter President Shankar Shrestha Nepal Contact
* ex officio member of the executive board