Latest Banknote of 2023 Nominations

Latest Nominations for the Banknote of 2023 are Solomon Islands: 10-Dollar Note, Peru: 200-Sol Note, Egypt: 20-Pound Note,Kazakhstan: 10,000-Tenge Note, Tonga: 10-pa'anga Note

Do you know of a banknote that was issued to the public that should be nominated for the Banknote of 2023?  Send your nominations to the Banknote of the Year Co-Ordinator (

IBNS Journal 62-4

includes articles on Banknotes following WWII, Royal Cypher on British India Banknotes, Sir John Houblon and the £50 Note, Confessions of a (Mauritian) One-Dollar Note, 1843 and the full list of World Heritage Sites on Banknotes.
Login to read your copy.


IBNS Board and Officers

President Pam West UK Contact
First Vice President Sev Onyshkevych USA Contact
Second Vice President Omer Yalcinkaya Turkey Contact
Immediate Past President Dennis Lutz USA Contact

Regional Directors

Director, Region 1
- US/Canada Mountain time zone and west
Ron Richardson Canada Contact
Director, Region 2
- US/Canada Central time zone and east; Bermuda
Brent Mackie Canada Contact
Director, Region 3
- United Kingdom
Jonathan Callaway UK Contact
Director, Region 4
- Western Europe and Scandinavian countries
(including Finland), excluding UK
Thomas Augustsson Sweden Contact
Director, Region 5
- Baltic States, remainder of Europe east of
Germany-Austria-Italy, the Middle East and Africa
Arsentiy Khonin Kazakhstan Contact
Director, Region 6
- Asia east from the Urals and Caspian Sea, South Asia east
of Iran, Australasia, Pacific Islands not US postal codes
Anthony James Australia Contact
Director, Region 7
- Mexico, Central and South America, and the Caribbean.
Alexandre Costa Brazil Contact

Directors At Large

NameCountry  NameCountry 
Jaime Sanz Spain Contact   Peter Eccles New Zealand Contact
Serhiy Trushyn Ukraine Contact   Stane Straus Slovenia Contact
S. Hakim Hamdani Netherlands Contact   Ilias Panagiotidis France Contact
Jason Lutz USA Contact   Mushtaq Sharif Canada Contact
Colin Meikle Australia Contact   Nitin Rohatgi India Contact
Frank Robinson Australia Contact   Dmitriy Litvak USA Contact

Honorary Directors For Life

Joseph E Boling USA Contact  
Peter Symes Australia Contact  

IBNS Officers

General Secretary* Gordon de Totth Australia Contact
Membership Secretary* for Europe, Africa and the Middle East Robin Hill UK Contact
Membership Secretary* for Australasia and Asia Pacific Gordon de Totth Australia Contact
Membership Secretary* for the Western Hemisphere Brian Giese USA Contact
Chapters Secretary* David White Australia Contact
Treasurer* Dave Frank USA Contact
Assistant Treasurer (USA) Jason Lutz USA Contact
Assistant Treasurer (UK) Robin Hill UK Contact
Auctioneer* David Hunt UK Contact
Grievance and Discipline Program Manager* Flemming Hansen Denmark Contact
Grievance and Discipline Program Assistant Stanley Serxner USA Contact
Grievance and Discipline Program Assistant Tony Alsop Australia Contact
Legal Counsel* James A. Downey USA Contact
Educational Program Manager* Fabrizio Raponi Japan Contact
Awards Program Manager* Dennis Lutz USA Contact
Archivist Roger Urce USA Contact
Journal Editor*
Alex Kort USA Contact
General Advertising Manager* Tim Welo USA Contact
Webmaster* Robin Hill UK Contact

IBNS Chapter Chair/President

01 London Chapter Chairperson Pam West UK Contact
02 Sydney Chapter President Graham Owen Australia Contact
04 Midwest Chapter President Garrett Schumacher USA Contact
06 Melbourne Chapter President Stephen Prior Australia Contact
08 Netherlands Chapter President Oleg Banachek Netherlands Contact
11 East Midlands Chapter Chairman Simon Biddlestone UK Contact
13 Vancouver Chapter President Ron Richardson Canada Contact
14 Perth Chapter President Steve Milner Australia Contact
19 Indian Banknote Collectors Chapter Chairman Rezwan Razack India Contact
24 Greater New York City Chapter President Suresh Jagannathan USA Contact
26 North Carolina Chapter President Austin Mattox USA Contact
27 Rocky Mountain Chapter President
Ed Hornung USA Contact
28 Romania Chapter President Florin Mercea Romania Contact
29 Spain Chapter President Jaime Sanz Spain Contact
32 Lebanon Chapter President Gilbert Abou Fayssal Lebanon Contact
34 Ukraine Chapter President Serhiy Trushyn Ukraine Contact
35 Nepal Chapter President Deependra Shakya Nepal Contact
36 African Banknote Collectors Chapter President Kevin Warfel USA Contact
37 Ontario Chapter President Brent Mackie Canada Contact
* ex officio member of the executive board